AAKASH iACST Scholarship Apply Now

India stood at 37th place in IMO 2015

Jul 2015 Source: MOTACHASHMA

AAKASH iACST Scholarship upto 90% Apply Now
Free Olympiad SMS Alerts Register Now
Scholarships for Class 8 to 12 by AAKASH Apply Now
FREE SMS Alerts Register Now
MANIPAL Admission Open Apply Now
10th, 12th Board Exams SMS Update Register Now
Online BCA by MANIPAL University Apply Now

International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO) is one of the most reputed and oldest running International Olympiad. The First IMO was organized in Romania in 1959. The content of the examination is based on extremely difficult precalculus problems to problems related to the branches of mathematics which are generally not covered at School or University level, which require extensive knowledge.

The selection process of the candidates differs from country to country, but it consists of a series of test which require advance knowledge of the subject. Each country sends their team having 6 students, a Team Leader, one deputy leader and observers.

India started participating in International Mathematical Olympiad Examination in the year 1989 and scored 25th position in the very first year. Since 1989, India has maintained its position amongst top 40 countries of IMO. In IMO 2015, India stood at 37th position out of 104 participating countries.

The countries occupying Top 3 positions were United States of America, People’s Republic of China and Republic of Korea. While Australia (6), Canada (9) were among the Top 10 nations in IMO, Japan (22) and New Zealand (43) were among Top 50 countries and our Loving Neighbor Pakistan with its 85th position maintained its place in Top 100 countries.

Now let us have a look at the Indian team that participated in International Mathematical Olympiad 2015. The information related to the names, rank and awards received by Indian team are as mentioned in the Table:




Jeet Mohapatra


Silver Medal

Shourya Pandey


Bronze Medal

Pranjal Warade


Bronze Medal

Sagnik Majumder


Honorable Mention

Soumik Ghosh


Honorable Mention

Anant Mudgal


Honorable Mention


Mota Chashma heartiest congratulations to all the winners!

Subscribe for Regular Updates

Delivered by FeedBurner