CBSE Class 10 Board Assessment Guidelines for Students


AAKASH ANTHE Scholarship upto 100% Register FREE
Free Olympiad SMS Alerts Register Now
100% Scholarship for Class 7 to 12 & Passed by AAKASH Apply Now
FREE SMS Alerts Register Now
FREE Trip to NASA Apply Now
10th, 12th Board Exams SMS Update Register Now
Online Scholarship Exam from Home Register FREE

CBSE Class 10 Board Assessment Guidelines for Students has remodelled the Assessment Structure from the academic year 2017-18. The CBSE Class 10 Board Exam will consist of 80 marks and the Internal Assessment will consist of 20 marks. According to the Governing body of the CBSE Board, the class 10 examination was previously known as Scheme I and Scheme II, which will be discontinued for the students appearing in Class 10 from the Academic year 2017-18 and onwards. Scroll down for CBSE Class 10 Board Assessment Guidelines.

CBSE Class 10 Exam for the academic year 2017-18 will start from 6 March 2018 and will continue till 4 April 2018.

Class 10th and 12th Time Table 2018 / Board Date Sheet

CBSE Remodelled Assessment

CBSE Class 10 Remodelled Assessment Structure

Class 10 Board Exams are restored from the academic year 2017-18, the exam will be conducted as per the remodelled assessment structure. The Remodelled Assessment Structure consists of the following three areas:

  • Scholastic Area
  • Co-Scholastic Activities
  • Discipline (Attendance, Values, Behaviour, Sincerity)

CBSE Class 10 Scholastic Area

The Scholastic area is the main course or syllabus for the students of class 10. CBSE Board exam for each subject namely; Language 1, Language 2, Science, Mathematics, Social Sciences and 6th Additional Subject will be of 100 marks including 80 marks in Board examination and 20 Marks Internal Assessment. 

Total 100 Marks

Board Examination: 80 Marks 

Internal Assessment: 20 Marks

  • Board Examination: Students have to secure 33% marks out of 80 marks in each subject
  • Internal Assessment: Student has to secure 33% marks out of overall 20 marks earmarked in each subject




CBSE Class 10 Syllabus 

Subjects of Board Examination: The CBSE Board will conduct Class 10 examination for 80 marks in each subject covering 100% syllabus of the subject of class 10 only. The marks and Grades both will be awarded for Individual subjects. 9 point grading will be same as followed by the Board in Class 12. Board Exam will consist of Language 1, Language 2, Science, Mathematics, Social Science and 6th Additional Subject. The details of 6 Additional subjects is given below:

6th Additional Subjects

In case the student opts a language as six additional subjects the modalities defined for language 1 & 2 shall be followed.

Internal Assessment: The Internal Assessment will consist of 20 marks and is divided into three parts that are Periodic Test (10 marks), Notebook Submission (5 marks) and Subject Enrichment Activity (5 marks)

  • Periodic Test: The Periodic written test will consist of 10 marks and will be restricted to three subjects in an academic year, and the average of the best two test are considered as final. The three tests may be held as one being the mid-term test and the other two being the pre-mid and post-mid test. In the case of conducting the periodic test, the school has its own autonomy to make its own schedule.
  • Notebook Submission: The "Notebook submission" will consist of 5 marks, and it aimed at enhancing seriousness of students towards preparing notes for the topics taught in the classroom as well as assignments. Notebook Submission includes Regularity, Assignment Completion and Neatness & upkeep of notebook.
  • Subject Enrichment Activity: The Subject Enrichment Activity will consist of 5 marks. It includes Speaking and listening, Practical Lab work, Maths Lab Practical and Map Work & Project work

CBSE Class 10 Co-Scholastic Activities

The Co-Scholastic Activities must be promoted by the schools for the overall development of the students. These activities will be graded on a 5-point grading scale that is A to E and will have no descriptive indicators. The upscaling of grades will not be done. The details is given in the table below:


To be graded on a 5-point scale (A-E) in school

Areas and Objectives

Work Education or pre-vocational education

By the concerned Teacher

  • Work Education is a distinct curricular area for the students for participation in social, economic and welfare activities.
  • Student gets a sense of community service and develops self-reliance.

Art Education

By the VA/PA or the concerned teacher

  • Art Education constitutes an important area of curricular activity for the development of wholesome personality of the students.
  • Students will select one or more forms of creative art.

Health & Physical Education (Sports/Martial Arts/Yoga/NCC)

By the PE Teacher

  • Health and Physical activities mainly sports must be given a regular period. Students should be provided opportunities to get professionally trained in their area of interest.
  • NCC must be encouraged in the schools creating a sense of physical fitness, discipline, sportsmanship, patriotism, self-sacrifice and health care.


CBSE Class 10 Discipline

Discipline includes the attendance, Sincerity, Behaviour, values of the students that significantly impact shaping the career and helps to build the character. Sincerity, good behaviour and values develop strength and foster unity and co-operation. The class teacher will be responsible for grading the students on a Five-point Scale that from A to E on the basis of the elements of discipline.

List of Scholarships and Olympiad for Class 10 Students

In the case of any query related to CBSE Class 10 Board Exam Assessment Guidelines for Students, you can write to us in the comments section below.

Subscribe for Regular Updates

Delivered by FeedBurner

Scholarships - Deadline Approaching